The Grundfos Prize
Every year in November, the Grundfos Foundation invites Danish Universities to nominate rising research stars for the Grundfos Prize. Since 2018, the Foundation has targeted young researchers under the theme "The Stars of Tomorrow".

The Grundfos Prize was established by the Grundfos Foundation in 2001 with the purpose of promoting, acknowledging and supporting national and international research and solutions that are useful to society.

Target: rising stars

Since 2018, the Foundation has targeted young researchers under the theme “The Stars of Tomorrow”. The selection criteria are as follows:

  • Research area within technology or natural science
  • Significant research, recognized by peers, that breaks new ground
  • Research that creates, or lays the foundation for, societal change (such as contributing towards reaching one or more of the UN Sustainable Development Goals)

The Grundfos Prize consists of the sculpture “Be-Think-Innovate” by artist Flemming Brylle and a cash payment of DKK 1 million, of which DKK 250,000 goes directly to the recipient of the prize, whilst the remaining DKK 750,000 is allocated to further research in the field.

Nomination of candidates

The nomination must consist of a letter of recommendation (maximum 3 to 4 pages) as well as a brief CV which must include the nominee’s ORCID, a publication list, and (if relevant) a list of patent applications and patents. Please send it to no later than 1 May 2022.

Age limit: Eligible candidates must not exceed the age of 40 (men) / 45 (women) on the day of  the prize ceremony.

2022 Grundfos Prize Jury

– Jens Maaløe, Chairman, Poul Due Jensen Foundation
– Niels Due
Jensen, former Chairman of the Poul Due Jensen Foundation
– Per Halkjær Nielsen, Professor, Aalborg University
– Susanne Bødker, Professor, Aarhus University
– Ole Sigmund, Professor, Technical University of Denmark

The winner will be notified directly in July. In the event that the Committee fails to identify a qualified candidate, the prize will not be awarded.

"The winner is publicly revealed in connection with the Grundfos Prize Ceremony."