03. Oct. 2019
Jens Maaløe, Chairman of the Poul Due Jensen Foundation and the Grundfos Prize Jury, awarded the 2019 Grundfos Prize to Professor Morten Mattrup Smedskjær at the prize ceremony in Bjerringbro, Thursday 3 October.

The Grundfos Prize Jury decided to award the Grundfos Prize 2019 to professor MSO, Morten Mattrup Smedskjær, Department of Chemistry and Bioscience, Aalborg University, recognizing his research within amorphous materials, especially oxide glasses, colloquially glass.

From left: Chairman Jens Maaløe, Professor Morten Mattrup Smedskjær, and Niels Due Jensen.

The Grundfos Prize Committee especially recognizes Morten Mattrup Smedskjær’s contribution to

  • development of a topological material model for the hardness of glasses. Based on physical and chemical atomic level calculations, the model delivers precise predictions of macroscopic properties, including hardness, as a function of chemical composition. The model has among other uses been the basis for the development of the Corning, Inc. Gorilla Glass, which is a part of innumerable smartphones.
  • development of the until now most scratch and fracture resistant glass type, with some self-healing properties. Like the first, this development is based on a deep theoretical understanding of the mechanisms behind shock and cracks.
  • development of new experimental methods for characterization of deformation and rupture.
  • participation in international research projects aiming at a broad application of the understanding of the physical and chemical properties of glasses.
"The research of Morten Mattrup Smedskjær covers the entire range from deep theoretical analyses via modelling and advanced experimental methods to industrial applications, as evidenced by his high patenting activity. It is a prime example of use-inspired basic research."
Jens Maaløe, Chairman,Poul Due Jensen Foundation.

The Grundfos Prize consists of the sculpture “Be-Think-Innovate” by artist Flemming Brylle and a cash payment of DKK 1 million, of which DKK 250,000 goes directly to the recipient of the prize, whilst the remaining DKK 750,000 is allocated to further research in the field.

Professor Morten Mattrup Smedskjær. Photo: Camilla Kristensen, AAU

In 2017, the Foundation decided to focus its attention on younger researchers under the theme “Stars of Tomorrow”. Morten Mattrup Smedskjær is the second young technology and science talent to receive the award.


The Grundfos Prize was established by the Poul Due Jensen Foundation in 2001 with the purpose of promoting, acknowledging and supporting national and international research and solutions, which are useful to the community. More information

Morten Mattrup Smedskjær is Professor MSO at Aalborg University. AAU profile pageOxide Glass Research Group

The Poul Due Jensen Foundation is a Danish commercial foundation. Grundfos’ founder, Poul Due Jensen, created the foundation on 19 May 1975. Today, the Foundation owns 87.8% of the shares in Grundfos.