With four donations totalling more than DKK 40 million, Aarhus University's new Centre for Water Technology (WATEC) is headed for a place among the international elite within the field of research into sustainable water cycles. This is largest sum ever donated to water research by the Poul Due Jensen Foundation.

WATEC opened in October 2017 as an interdisciplinary strategic research initiative, bringing together and reinforcing water technology research in a broad sense, from mapping water resources and the natural water cycle to wastewater management and development of sensors to control water purification and identify harmful substances in water.

Through basic research, the centre aims to produce new insight, and utilise this insight to arrive at new and better solutions through applied research within water technologies.

“Research at the centre will address crucial social tasks, while at the same time generating considerable potential for Danish industry – for existing as well as new businesses within the Danish water sector,” said Niels Christian Nielsen, Dean, Science and Technology, Aarhus University.

The four donations from the Poul Due Jensen Foundation will make a direct contribution to strategies at the research centre.

The donations will fund:

  • A new professorship and two postdoc positions within water treatment research
  • A professorship and two postdoc positions for research and development of water-quality sensors
  • Establishment of an advanced sensor laboratory
  • Recruitment of two-three postdocs to give WATEC a broad foundation on which new and innovative ideas can thrive across the centre’s subjects and fields of research.

WATEC is headed by Professor Niels Peter Revsbech, who was awarded the Grundfos Prize in 2013 for his development of advanced sensors and his research into the relationship between microorganisms and the natural conditions under which they live. Indeed, to a great extent, WATEC is based on Professor Revsbech’s achievements; both as a researcher and as an inventor.

WATEC Aarhus University Centre for Water Technology